I, resident of San Francisco, take you, Fog City…

…as my lawfully wedded home. I know it hasn’t been that long, merely a year, but you have already given me a lifetime of memories. The happiest yet.

I vow to be as loyal to you as the guy at Fisherman’s Wharf is to dressing up as a bush and scaring tourists. Speaking of which, I vow to never stop exploring your many corners and alleys. You have so much beauty to offer and I vow to never shut my eyes to that.

I vow to love you even when you aren’t very loveable. When your feisty winds blow up my dress and I flash everyone on Market Street. When the M Train just won’t come or the F train is so overcrowded with tourists that I have to walk in heels for two miles to get to the nearest subway station. When the fog is so thick that it covers my neighborhood like a thick blanket, shielding it off from any sunshine. When the smell of urine is unbearable and you don’t even want to look too closely at the puddle on the bus seat next to yours. Because of you, I laugh, I smile, I dare to dream again. So, I vow to overlook all your flaws.

I vow to submit my bank account to your rents, Muni passes, phone rates and exorbitant living expenses. And to the occasional dollars for the homeless. I agree to disagree with you over kale, but I will meet you halfway when it comes to gluten-free and organic. Mostly, because you leave me no other choice. I will support your high-end lifestyle by paying $4.99 for a small bottle of Odwalla. I agree, it is damn good juice. Kambucha, however, sucks. You can take that to your friend L.A.! I will support the local economy by religiously buying Three Twins Ice Cream- you just know that the Peppermint Confetti flavor always lifts me up, don’t you?

I vow to never stop acknowledging your beauty. Even more so, I promise that I will never ever ever NOT be left breathless, no matter how many times I cross the Golden Gate Bridge or hike up Twin Peaks. You are the closest to heaven I could get and I shall never take that for granted. I vow to always keep up with the latest tech knick-knacks that you come up with. I will let Google deliver my groceries and Lyft bring me home and UP24 measure my health. I love that you have a crazy, risk-taking, out-of-the-box-thinking personality and I will never stop supporting that. Well…once I have money, I won’t.

I can’t promise you I will never smile about all your tourists, but I will try my best to be kind when telling them to “step down to open the door”. I can’t promise you I will always be happy about those insanely steep hills you throw in my way, but I will try my best to take it as a work-out. I can’t promise that I will never start taking your weather for granted but I promise that I will never stop loving the sunshine you bring into my life. All day, every day.

I pronounce my dependence on the eternal heat in Dolores Park and on the freaky hippies in Haight-Ashbury. On the parrots of Coit Tower, on the ice-cream at Ghiradelli Square  and the dolphins at Baker Beach. I vow to love and cherish every palm tree till earthquake do us part.

Lastly, to steal from Leo, “I vow to fiercely love you in all your forms, now and forever. I promise to never forget that this is a once in a lifetime love. And to always know in the deepest part of my soul that no matter what challenges might carry us apart, we will always find our way back to each other.”

 

Slide1

Leave a Reply

