The Windy City

Chicago gets me. It has everything I could ask for- the beaches in the summer (aka Lake Shore), the tall skyscrapers, the bridges and rivers throughout the city, Chicago Style Pizza (Giordano’s is perfection, that pizza is like a high-five for my mouth!), a NUTELLA BAR, little cafés, a German christmas market  and definitely more of the fast-food chains I remember from my time in NYC. If only it wasn’t for the weather. I left SF sweating in my winter coat under 68°F…right now I am shivering under three bed layers because it’s -5°F outside. The wind was biting and icy, cooling my body down no matter how much I jumped around and kept moving. Merry Christmas to every body part not covered in wool.

I did all the touristy sightseeing, fought my fear of heights on the sky ledge up on Willis Tower, got interviewed by ABC World News (and made a complete fool of myself), went Christmas Shopping on the Magnificent Mile, tried something at Argo Tea (Which is like Starbucks but with different tea creations- I had a Red Velvet milk/red tea combination and it tasted amazing!!) and even donated some dollars to a couple of bums on the street. Because, let’s face it, being homeless anywhere in the world sucks but being on the street in wintery Chicago is cruel.

I could live in Chicago because it reminds me of New York but I also realized that it will be hard in the future to find a city with as beautiful of a landscape as San Francisco’s. The hills and ocean and green parks, the small houses and the pyramid and bridges definitely make it stand out. People come to California to see L.A. and San Diego and Disneyland and some of the National Parks but S.F. trumps them all, I’m tellin’ ya! Nevertheless, I figured I’d share with you some wintery Chicago pictures. Nothing distracts you more from holiday homesickness than traveling! Where are you gonna spend Christmas?

Merry Christmas and happy holidays!!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERADID YOU KNOW: “The Bean” is part of the millenial park- which happens to be the world’s largest rooftop terrace! It’s located on top of an underground parking area.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAGiordano’s has several stores within the city, this one was located on Michigan Street, just a few minutes away from the Millenium Station. You might have to wait for about an hour, which is totally worth it though!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThe Magnificent Mile is comparable to New York’s 5th Avenue. Shop till you drop, basically.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAFind Eataly Chicago, the Nutella Bar is located on the ground floor. The crepes were amazing!
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERASun setting and night crawling into the city.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAChicago Christmas Market. 50 W Washington Street. Crowded and long lines for everything but gebrannte Mandeln (roasted almonds) and the traditional Glühwein (warm spiced wine) are so worth it!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAWillis Tower- 233 S Wacker Dr. Again, wait time varies and can be long depending on the season but the views on a clear day are going to be breathtaking. DID YOU KNOW that it was the tallest building in the Western hemisphere- until it got replaced by the Freedom Tower in NYC? Yeah. Cool story, right?

Leave a Reply

