Approaching- Outbound Trains in 100 minutes

Dear M Outbound train,

After three months of relying on you daily to get me into the city once, twice, sometimes even three or four times a day, I have had enough! I tried to be understanding, you know. Be OK with the fact that the next outbound train might be announced to arrive in 5 minutes but still takes half an hour nonetheless. Accept the fact that trains are being skipped and the few that do make it into the station are helplessly overcrowded, badly enough so that I fear to miss my stop because I cannot get out in time. I tried to make my peace with the fact that a two-car-train is being randomly disconnected at a station, which I only realize after my part of the tram continues as a different line and all that is left for me to do is watch the first part continue en route to home. Oh, you announced that? Over the speakers that are not working? Why, thanks! I tried to take the random assortment of people with a great deal of humor because, after all, that is part of the San Francisco feel. You gotta learn to love the junkies and old ladies clipping their toe nails and isn’t it great that people don’t even question the big puddles on the seat next to them anymore? Could be pee, could be water, definitely is not sperm, cause that can be found in that used condom in the corner. Excuse me Miss, does your bag really need its own seat while the old lady here has to stand? Inhalling the scents of a homeless person while being stuck in the tunnel for fifteen minutes without any explanation of why that is happening. But that’s fine because two guys who are clearly high on something offer free real-life entertainment.
No, I am getting tired and I am longing for a car. Or a bike. So, here are my final words for you, I thought of them the other day while waiting at the station for 45 minutes, then being pushed into the tram only to be told five minutes later that the inbound M line I was on would spontaneously be changed into an outbound L line, which forced me to switch trams again and miss my salsa lesson:

Seems like just yesterday
that you failed me again
you used to drive so frequently
you used to be on time
your seats comfy and clean
is now a distant dream
Of the unbreakable, of nothin’ goin’ wrong
Now I can’t breathe
No, I can’t sleep
I’m barely hanging on

Here I am, once again
I’m torn into pieces
Can’t deny it, can’t pretend
Just thought you’d get me home
Broken up, deep inside
But you won’t get to see the tears I cry
because you never run

After long days in school
I just want to go home
You could help me make that true
For once in my life
Now all that’s left to me
Is hoping the next day will be
So different, that you might be on time
‘Cause I can’t breathe
till I feel the breeze
of you runnin’ into the statiooooon

Here I am, once again
I’m torn into pieces
Can’t deny it, can’t pretend
public transport in the city sucks
Broken up, deep inside
But you won’t get to see the tears I cry
because you never run

Swallow me then spit me out
from an overcrowded tram car
Waiting for you became a norm
No, I don’t cry on the outside
Anymore…
Anymore…

Here I am, once again
I’m torn into pieces
Can’t deny it, can’t pretend
just thought you could do better
Broken up, deep inside
But you won’t get to see the tears I cry
because you never run

Here I am, once again
I’m torn into pieces
Can’t deny it, can’t pretend
Just thought you were the one
Broken up, deep inside
But you won’t get to see the tears I cry
I hate you M train!

(thanks Kelly Clarkson!)

photo

3 thoughts on “Approaching- Outbound Trains in 100 minutes

  1. Pingback: Five Totally Random Reasons to Love Berlin | longdistanceroommates

Leave a Reply

