Kitchen Adventures: Throw Some Fruit in a Blender…

I haven’t forgotten that I promised you guys a strawberry recipe or three… yet somehow most of the strawberries I bought yesterday were gone by this morning, so this recipe only contains a handful (I say that still counts).

Either way, you can basically vary this smoothie however you want, and if the ingredients below look a bit randomly assembled to you, that’s because they were – I just took what leftovers I found in the kitchen.

The important thing for smoothies to remember is to mix ingredients in a way that will get the consistency right. You usually need a base of some kind. Here’s what I used:

  • ca. 100 ml low-fat milk
  • ca. 150 ml water – I’d have used milk instead of water for the whole thing, but, you guessed it, I ran out of milk. It turned out just fine so if you’re looking to save calories or something, water works. Juice is also an alternative, though not for calorie-savers 😉
  • ca. 90 g lemon sorbet (low-fat fruit-flavoured ice cream or frozen yogurt are good alternatives, just nothing too heavy/creamy)

Then, of course, you need some fruit to go with your base, because so far, your smoothie is going to have a bit of a lemony taste but not much else to it. I used the following:

  • 2 handfuls of melon, cubed, frozen (I used Galia, but I’m sure Honey Dew or Cantaloupe would also be delicious)
  • 1/2 large banana (leftover from my coffee-banana-smoothie)
  • ca. 10 small strawberries (I’d have used more if we’d had more!)

If you use these quantities, you’ll end up with about half a liter of smoothie, maybe even a bit more… You can vary the fruit as you wish, but to get the consistency right, it’s important that you add some frozen fruit – otherwise you’ll have to add in ice cubes instead of water or vary the amounts of sorbet and milk. Just experiment with it a bit, and enjoy!

smoothie

PS: If you’ve read my previous kitchen adventures post on poaching eggs… I’d like to reiterate the statement that it takes practice. I screwed mine up completely this morning – I was too hungry, so I didn’t wait for the water to be the right temperature. You’d think I’d remember how crucial that is after writing an entire blog entry about it… apparently not! Well, it’s a learning curve.

 

Leave a Reply

