HIMYM or The Ultimate TV Addiction

The other day, I finished the 8th season of How I Met Your Mother. My closest friends had been fans for years and after having put it on my bucket list,  I really had no excuse anymore. Also, I was sick of being left out during insider puns at dinner, such as “I had a total pineapple incident the other day” or “Man, my date blew. He was a total Barney” so I finished the 8 seasons within a month basically. I’m gonna try to avoid spoilers for you, but my main impression after the all deciding last episode was: Uhm…ok….
The main impression of the show itself though is a definitive: LET’S HIT THE REPEAT BUTTON AND WATCH IT AGAAAIN. And AGAAAIN. AND AGAAAAAIN.

26 Random Thoughts on HIMYM:

1.) Apparently, finding The One requires 8 years of daily dating
Yellow-Umbrella-how-i-met-your-mother-1226998_1280_720
2.) Dammit, why didn’t I think of burying something in Central Park for my future self! Oh right, because I- just like Robin- would have forgotten where I’d burried it
met5
3.) Money is never a problem and every day is pub day.
images
4.) I feel sorry for Ted’s kids, I wonder if they every asked for the story. And even if they did, were they really willing to spend years of their lives listening to it? Now that the show is coming to an end, I’m actually most curious about the kids’ final remarks. Like…are they gonna sit there in the end, being mind-blown? Are they gonna be asleep? Are they gonna be like: “Huh, cool story bro, tell it again!” ?
himym-kids-season-1
5.) Even if your entire apartment is turned upside down, your best friends ally with your arch enemy and destroy your oven, you are willing to forget about all of it to give your arch enemy a nice Thanksgiving
images-1
6.) Food and Sex breaks during huge fights between couples are incredibly handy. How come I never thought of that?!
images-2
7.) I have never seen cuter, awesomer (yes, its a word) Halloween costumes than the ones Marshall and Lilly (and, unwillingly, Ted too) display
how-i-met-your-mother-salt-and-pepper-and-cumin-trio-halloween-costumes-himym
8.) I wanted Robin to be the mother from S01E01 onwards. I ignored the fact that she was being referred to as “Aunt Robin” from S01E01 onwards. Now that it’s over though, I gotta admit, I’m Team Barney.
images-3
9.) Apparently, the American TV world is running out of actors when a show has been on TV for years- I traced characters from Scrubs (never been a fan), Sex and the City (I miss ya gals!), House (gotta finish that last season…), Desperate Housewives (may the mighty TV God rest their chatty souls) and How to live with your parents- once again (Sadly stopped that after a few episodes), alongside of various known actors and VIPs…call me Whistleblower.
images-4
10.) I’d totally order a Robin Sherbatsky, sounds like the most delicious drink ever invented in a TV Show.
images-5
11.) I don’t know why everybody was so bored over Ted’s facts about the Empire State Building, I found them super interesting.
images-6
12.) Let’s go to the Mall is totally on my running playlist.

13.) On that related note, I’m surprised by the vocal talents in the show.

14.) Some of the games Lily’s dad invented I would just love to play with some of my Ex-boyfriends.
images-7
15.) Bang-Bang-Bangitibang really is a freaking catchy song.
Screen_himym5x17_2
16.) If I had been on the cover of the New Yorker, I’d have pulled off the same move. Go you Ted!
images-8
17.) I would have never, NEVER NEVER EVER agreed on staying in that storm trooper throughout the entire Star Wars movie. Although, that could have totally happened to me.

18.) I really wanna try out the wedding-ring-in-the-champaign-glass-move on a couple hehehe
images-9
19.) They are right saying that, once you notice something critical about your friends (like Ted correcting people or Marshall singing everything), it becomes impossible to ignore it.
images-10
20.) “But, uhm… SHOT” also works in real life.
images-11
21.) Come on guys, let’s admit it. We all cried at the end of the episode where Robin’s telling her kids how she met their father.
HIMYM_Laughter-Tears-2
22.) FREEZE FRAME High-Five
images-12
23.) The show had some many priceless battles and showdowns: Robots vs. Wrestlers, The Price Is Right, New York City vs. New Jersey
images-13
24.) Please, please, please let San Francisco be better than what it sounds like from Lily’s perspective!!
images-14
25.)… Did Marshall have slaps left at the end of season 8?!
images-15
26.) Last, but not least, the entire show was just legen..wait for it, and I really hope you’re not lactose-intolerant because the next word is……..

Bottom line: The show was so much better than I thought it would be. I want this friendship group, I want those apartments, I want the marriage that Lily and Marshall have. It taught a lot about love and life and the “importance of timing-although timing’s a bitch” and though I find some of the perceptions a tiny bit depressing, they all somehow manage to live their life.
And, of course, Barney has taught us the vital importance of knowing where the High-Five came from:

“Jesus waited three days to come back to life. It was perfect! If he had only waited one day, a lot of people wouldn’t have even heard he died. They’d be all, “Hey Jesus, what up?” and Jesus would probably be like, “What up? I died yesterday!” and they’d be all, “Uh, you look pretty alive to me, dude…” and then Jesus would have to explain how he was resurrected, and how it was a miracle, and the dude’d be like “Uhh okay, whatever you say, bro…” And he’s not gonna come back on a Saturday. Everybody’s busy, doing chores, workin’ the loom, trimmin’ the beard, NO. He waited the perfect number of days, three. Plus it’s Sunday, so everyone’s in church already, and they’re all in there like “Oh no, Jesus is dead”, and then BAM! He bursts in the back door, runnin’ up the aisle, everyone’s totally psyched, and FYI, that’s when he invented the high five. That’s why we wait three days to call a woman, because that’s how long Jesus wants us to wait…. True story.”

So people, if you havent yet- go watch that show. From S01E01 onwards, I was dying to know who the mother would be and the thought of having to wait 8 seasons (!!!) was driving me a little furious. But you get into their little stories and, suddenly, the wait wasnt half as bad as waiting for christmas is. Also, give Barney a few episodes to grow on you, there is more to him than a bunch of high-fives and stupid bets, I promise.

… DAIRY

Leave a Reply

