Kiswahili changu si kizuri sana. … What?

“My Swahili is not very good.”

About time that changes, seeing as I will be boarding a plane in two weeks’ time. Kenya believe it? Okay, silly word play. But just to tell you again for those who haven’t read all the posts, I’ll be studying at the University of Nairobi, Kenya, for a semester from September onwards.
Obviously once I’m there I’ll be flooding this blog with pictures and stories and hopefully you’ll all be jealous of all the fun I’m having in Africa. I’m hoping to see elephants, giraffes, lions, rhinos, hippos, to go shopping, try awesome foods, go to a “real gospel church” even though religion and I have our differences, hopefully sing my heart out in a choir somewhere, go clubbing in what is supposed to an amazing nightlife scene, dance, celebrate, learn, make friends… just get the most out of this time. And you can tell I am excited.

However, at the moment, it’s like… do you know Goethe’s “Faust”? Two souls alas! are dwelling in my breast.
I am excited. I really can’t wait. At the same time, I don’t want to leave.

I don’t want to stand out, I don’t want to be stared at,  judged or put in a box because of the color of my skin, I don’t want to be scared to carry anything valuable or walk alone at night. I don’t want to be in a place where I don’t know anyone and nobody knows me, where I can’t go to see my best friends, where my roommate is still a continent away, where people will always recognize me as a stranger.

I don’t want to leave behind what I have here. There’s my family who I’m currently spending some valuable time with. My friends, my university, someone I just met but have grown extremely close with. All of this will be thousands of miles away two weeks from now.

And yet… everything I said in the first paragraph still stands… I can’t wait to go and throw myself into yet another adventure. I’ve seen Europe, Australia, North America, South America… I’ve never been to Africa. I’m excited. As for the two souls dilemma, time will just have to sort this out. At least I can’t complain that my life is boring at the moment.

And while I prepare for Nairobi, let’s all be giant pains in Ari’s butt so she finally tells us about her adventures in D.C., Upstate New York, Indiana and whereever else she’s been since her last entry. Arianeeeeeeee!!

Leave a Reply

